Overview
- Technology
- Electromechanical Component, Haptic Actuator
- Geography
- Global average data from equipment vendor specifications and industry literature
System boundary
The figure groups this dataset's unit processes by class. It is not a count of manufacturing steps — each process runs over as many passes as the flow requires, and those pass counts ship with the dataset.
Data quality and references
Pedigree scores follow the ecoinvent data-quality matrix: 1 is the best attainable, 5 the weakest. The composite is their aggregate.
- Sampling procedure
- Component vendor specifications, academic papers, industry literature
- Coverage status
- Partial
- Pedigree-scored source files
- 3 — the source records behind this dataset's manufacturing operations. Each carries the five pedigree axes above; the composite DQI aggregates them.
Technosphere inputs
8 flows. Quantities are not published; they ship with the dataset on Circa.
Electricity, China (CN) ElectricitykWh · -48.1% / +93.7%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from equipment energy across all manufacturing operations. This model includes no facility support, so the total is the manufacturing operations alone.
- REEL derivation: engineering estimate of connector and electromechanical component mass and material split, built from vendor catalogue and product-page data for representative parts; no single published inventory covers this component class
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- electricity, medium voltage
- Uncertainty
- -48.1% / +93.7% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kWh
Sintered NdFeB magnet Materialkg · -34.8% / +41.3%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from per-operation consumption, operation counts, and manufacturing yield.
- REEL derivation: engineering estimate of connector and electromechanical component mass and material split, built from vendor catalogue and product-page data for representative parts; no single published inventory covers this component class
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- proxy-mapped
- Background dataset
- permanent magnet, for electric motor
- Uncertainty
- -34.8% / +41.3% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Copper, cathode Materialkg · -28.6% / +42.9%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from per-operation consumption, operation counts, and manufacturing yield.
- REEL derivation: engineering estimate of connector and electromechanical component mass and material split, built from vendor catalogue and product-page data for representative parts; no single published inventory covers this component class
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- copper, cathode
- Notes
- From Enameled copper wire (97.0% copper)
- Uncertainty
- -28.6% / +42.9% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Nylon 6-6 Materialkg · -28.6% / +42.9%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from per-operation consumption, operation counts, and manufacturing yield.
- REEL derivation: engineering estimate of connector and electromechanical component mass and material split, built from vendor catalogue and product-page data for representative parts; no single published inventory covers this component class
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- nylon 6-6
- Notes
- From Enameled copper wire (3.0% enamel). Polyimide/polyamide enamel coating (~3% by mass)
- Uncertainty
- -28.6% / +42.9% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Stainless steel 304 Materialkg · -28.6% / +42.9%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from per-operation consumption, operation counts, and manufacturing yield.
- REEL derivation: engineering estimate of connector and electromechanical component mass and material split, built from vendor catalogue and product-page data for representative parts; no single published inventory covers this component class
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- steel, chromium steel 18/8, hot rolled
- Uncertainty
- -28.6% / +42.9% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Spring steel Materialkg · ±29.4%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from per-operation consumption, operation counts, and manufacturing yield.
- REEL derivation: engineering estimate of connector and electromechanical component mass and material split, built from vendor catalogue and product-page data for representative parts; no single published inventory covers this component class
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- steel, low-alloyed, hot rolled
- Uncertainty
- ±29.4% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
FPC/flex circuit Materialm2 · -40% / +60%
- Derivation basis
-
- The linked board is the two-layer flexible circuit dataset, whose reference product is one square metre of finished board. A kilogram booked against it carries no area, so a consumer either reads the number as that many square metres or, as this project's own screening did, withholds the row altogether; either way the link is lost. The reference area above is this row's own purchased mass divided by the areal mass of that finished board, 270.222375 g per square metre. The board states its own constituents per square metre: a 25 micrometre polyimide core at 35 g, a bonding adhesive at 18 g, rolled-annealed copper foil at 320 g, via and trace plating at 80 g, a coverlay at 55 g and a surface finish at 2.222375 g. Those are purchased figures and they sum to the 510.222375 g per square metre the board declares as its total. The finish term is the deposit the board's own finishing route leaves on it: nickel, the phosphorus co-deposited with it, and gold, each read from that route's own declarations. The nickel salt bought to fund the deposit is a much larger and separate quantity, and the finishing step books it for itself. The same board states the copper that stays on it after etching as 160 g and, separately, an etch sludge of 240 g, so the finished board is that list with 160 g of copper in place of 400, which is 270.222375 g per square metre. The copper side closes on two declarations made independently of each other, and the finish side closes on the board and its own route saying the same thing. The purchased mass itself is unchanged and stays on the face; the band published on the row is the row's own authored mass band carried through the same division, and the uncertainty of the divisor is not propagated into it.
The sources for this row are listed below.
- Source citations
-
- insulectro.com (date not recorded). Denkai America, "TOB-III High reliability electrodeposited copper foil" Technical Data Sheet, Rev May 4 2020 (Insulectro-hosted). Technical data sheet.
- de.beta-layout.com (date not recorded). MSC-Ditron, "FR-4 copper clad Laminate EP-84" TDS, created 11/16/2006 (beta-layout-hosted). Technical data sheet.
- eurocircuits.com (date not recorded). Eurocircuits, "Tolerances on Copper Thickness" (fabricator technical guideline).
- z-zero.com (date not recorded). Z-zero (Bill Hargin), "Actual Copper Thicknesses (As Opposed to What You've Assumed)" (stack-up design house blog). Vendor web page.
- pcbworld.com (date not recorded). PCBWorld, "Copper thickness" technology page.
- aivon.com (date not recorded). AIVON (Sophia Wang), "IPC 6012: A Detailed Examination of Hole/Via Plating Thickness Requirements", March 17 2026. Vendor web page.
- jlcpcb.com (date not recorded). JLCPCB, "Optimize PCB Plating Thickness for Superior Durability" blog.
- Upstream REEL dataset
- 2-Layer Flex PCB, ENIG finish
- Background dataset
- Modelled by REEL; see the upstream dataset above.
- Uncertainty
- -40% / +60% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- m2
Epoxy adhesive Materialkg · -40% / +50%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from per-operation consumption, operation counts, and manufacturing yield.
- REEL derivation: engineering estimate of connector and electromechanical component mass and material split, built from vendor catalogue and product-page data for representative parts; no single published inventory covers this component class
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- epoxy resin, liquid
- Uncertainty
- -40% / +50% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Outputs and waste
Trimming Scrap Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- market for iron scrap, sorted, pressed
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Spent Lubricant Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- treatment of hazardous waste, hazardous waste incineration, with energy recovery
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Wire Scrap Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
The sources below come from the manufacturing operations behind this row.
- Sources (inherited)
- Inherited, rolled up from the contributing process steps:
- KZL Industrial Automation. "KZL-224 Automatic Stator Coil Winding Machine." (Details 13.6 kW power consumption and 0.5 Mpa air pressure)
- KZL Industrial Automation. "KZL-228 & KZL-310 Stator Winding Machines." (10 kW and 1.5 kVA consumption profiles)
- Riley et al. (1996). "Journal of Applied Physics 79:6342." (Empirical 1.72 kJ discharge on 4-pole NdFeB, 3380 A peak)
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- market for copper scrap, sorted, pressed
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Adhesive Waste Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
The sources below come from the manufacturing operations behind this row.
- Sources (inherited)
- Inherited, rolled up from the contributing process steps:
- KZL Industrial Automation. "KZL-224 Automatic Stator Coil Winding Machine." (Details 13.6 kW power consumption and 0.5 Mpa air pressure)
- KZL Industrial Automation. "KZL-228 & KZL-310 Stator Winding Machines." (10 kW and 1.5 kVA consumption profiles)
- Riley et al. (1996). "Journal of Applied Physics 79:6342." (Empirical 1.72 kJ discharge on 4-pole NdFeB, 3380 A peak)
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- treatment of inert waste, sanitary landfill
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Scrapped material (line yield) Solid wastekg · -31.9% / +41.6%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
The sources below are this dataset's own bibliography. They are not tied to this row.
- Source citations (dataset-level)
- Inherited from this dataset's own bibliography, not tied to this row:
- insulectro.com (date not recorded). Denkai America, "TOB-III High reliability electrodeposited copper foil" Technical Data Sheet, Rev May 4 2020 (Insulectro-hosted). Technical data sheet.
- de.beta-layout.com (date not recorded). MSC-Ditron, "FR-4 copper clad Laminate EP-84" TDS, created 11/16/2006 (beta-layout-hosted). Technical data sheet.
- eurocircuits.com (date not recorded). Eurocircuits, "Tolerances on Copper Thickness" (fabricator technical guideline).
- z-zero.com (date not recorded). Z-zero (Bill Hargin), "Actual Copper Thicknesses (As Opposed to What You've Assumed)" (stack-up design house blog). Vendor web page.
- pcbworld.com (date not recorded). PCBWorld, "Copper thickness" technology page.
- aivon.com (date not recorded). AIVON (Sophia Wang), "IPC 6012: A Detailed Examination of Hole/Via Plating Thickness Requirements", March 17 2026. Vendor web page.
- jlcpcb.com (date not recorded). JLCPCB, "Optimize PCB Plating Thickness for Superior Durability" blog.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- treatment of inert waste, sanitary landfill
- Notes
- Calculated reject material after accounting for a manufacturing yield of 99%.
- Uncertainty
- -31.9% / +41.6% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Emissions to air
No emissions to air are recorded at this level.
Emissions to water
No emissions to water are recorded at this level.
Flows not quantified
No flows are recorded for this dataset without a quantity.
Limitations and unquantified flows (1)
Limits this dataset declares about itself: first any limit stated in its own description, then any limit it declares flow by flow, grouped by channel. Each entry below is the model's own disclosure.
From the dataset description
- Limitation: the final assembly electricity is taken from this project's own inventory for a larger brushless fan motor, whose assembly energy is itself a declared estimate rather than a measurement. It stands in for an actuator of this size, and it dominates the electricity this dataset reports. The assembly material losses that inventory carries are scaled to this actuator's own bill; the electricity is not, because no basis for scaling it is available.
The flows above are this dataset's own records. What follows are the scope rules set once for the whole database in the methodology report, repeated here so every dataset page carries them.
Database-wide boundary policy — applies to every REEL dataset
These boundaries are set once for the whole database, in Chapter 2 of the methodology report, and apply to this dataset wherever they are relevant to it. The excluded flows listed above are specific to this dataset.
- Use phase
- Product operation is outside the cradle-to-gate scope.
- End-of-life treatment
- Recycling and disposal are outside the cradle-to-gate scope.
- Distribution and retail
- The gate is a finished component ready for integration into a higher-level assembly.
- Inbound transport of raw materials
- Transport of purchased raw materials to the manufacturing facility is already inside the upstream "market for" datasets that users link to a background database, so it is not modelled a second time here. This does not cover freight between REEL production stages, which is modelled where a dataset authors it.
- Returnable shipping containers
- Where freight between production stages is modelled, the mass moved is the product itself. The shipping container (FOSB, SEMI M31) is returnable capital equipment whose per-trip share is unsourced, so its tare is excluded from the transport effort.
- Photomask fabrication
- A mask set's embodied burden is amortised across a high-volume production run and is not attributed per wafer. Users assessing low-volume production should add mask fabrication separately; the methodology report gives the basis for the exclusion.
- Employee transport, administration and R&D overhead
- Employee transportation, facility administration and R&D/pilot-production overhead are outside scope.
- Capital goods
- Manufacturing equipment, cleanroom construction and facility infrastructure are excluded, on the grounds of absent public data on equipment embodied energy, uncertainty in equipment lifetime and allocation, common practice in electronics LCA, and a focus on the operational inventory. Future versions may include capital goods when sufficient public data becomes available.
- Precious metal recovery credits
- Scrap recovery credits for precious metals are excluded pending data availability.
- Wafer reclaim
- Test wafers and scrap are outside the system boundary.
Inside the boundary, linked rather than modelled
- Silicon ingot growth and wafer slicing
- Inside the cradle-to-gate scope, but treated as upstream material inputs linked to background databases rather than modelled as REEL processes.
- Freight between production stages
- Where a dataset's product moves between REEL production stages - wafer fabrication to the packaging site, for example - that leg is authored as a transport service and linked to an ecoinvent freight activity. It is measured as a transport effort in tonne-kilometres, not as a mass. Route distances are authored per route class with a stated band; a lower bound of zero is a modelling statement that the two sites can be co-located, not a missing value.
Cut-off criteria
A flow is excluded from a process inventory when it contributes less than 1 % of the total mass of inputs to that unit process, or less than 1 % of its total energy input. The denominator is total process inputs, not product mass. That distinction matters in semiconductor manufacturing, where the input mass of water, chemicals and gases greatly exceeds the product mass, so the threshold removes only genuinely minor flows.
Included regardless of the cut-off
- Perfluorocarbons (CF4, C2F6, SF6, NF3) - high GWP, EPA regulated
- Heavy metals (Pb, Cd, Hg, Cr(VI)) - RoHS regulated, high toxicity
- Volatile organics (photoresist solvents, PGMEA) - air quality
- Precious metals (Au, Ag, Pd, Pt) - high embodied impacts
- Ozone-depleting substances (legacy CFCs, HCFCs) - Montreal Protocol
Miniature vibration motors for haptic feedback in mobile devices, wearables, and gaming controllers. Two main types: LRA (Linear Resonant Actuator) for crisp, responsive haptics, and ERM (Eccentric Rotating Mass) for lower-cost applications. LRAs use voice coil technology for linear motion; ERMs use a rotating eccentric mass on a DC motor shaft. LRAs are preferred in premium smartphones for precise haptic feedback.