Overview
- Technology
- Solid Tantalum Electrolytic
- Geography
- No single dominant region. KEMET (Greenville SC, USA + Monterrey, Mexico), AVX/Kyocera (Myrtle Beach SC, USA + Czech Rep), Vishay (Be'er Sheva, Israel + Mexico + Czech), Panasonic (Japan), TANIOBIS (Goslar, Germany – powder).
Terms used above
- ESR equivalent series resistance
System boundary
The figure groups this dataset's unit processes by class. It is not a count of manufacturing steps — each process runs over as many passes as the flow requires, and those pass counts ship with the dataset.
Data quality and references
Pedigree scores follow the ecoinvent data-quality matrix: 1 is the best attainable, 5 the weakest. The composite is their aggregate.
- Sampling procedure
- Vendor specifications and peer-reviewed literature
- Coverage status
- Partial
- Pedigree-scored source files
- 3 — the source records behind this dataset's manufacturing operations. Each carries the five pedigree axes above; the composite DQI aggregates them.
Technosphere inputs
10 flows. Quantities are not published; they ship with the dataset on Circa.
Electricity, Global (GLO) ElectricitykWh · -36.4% / +94.5%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from equipment energy across all manufacturing operations. This model includes no facility support, so the total is the manufacturing operations alone.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- electricity, medium voltage
- Uncertainty
- -36.4% / +94.5% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kWh
Fresh water WaterL · -50% / +100%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from process-water and ultrapure-water demand across all manufacturing operations. This model includes no facility support, so the demand is the manufacturing operations alone. The fresh intake shown is that whole demand: the water-recycling scenario this dataset assumes reuses none of it, so nothing has been deducted, and wastewater follows the same balance.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- tap water
- Notes
- Process and cleaning water
- Uncertainty
- -50% / +100% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- L
Ta Anode Pellet Materialkg · -37.3% / +35.5%
- Source citations
-
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Ho, H.-J.; Lin, K.-Y. (2019), "Hydrometallurgical Process for Tantalum Recovery from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors", Materials 12(8), 1220. Journal article.
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Sprague, "Solid Tantalum Capacitors: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)", document number 40110, revision 30-Jul-08. PDF document.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- tantalum powder, capacitor-grade
- Notes
- Purchased input grossed to fund the authored process loss booked as Sieve reject fines + oversized chunks (mass-closure funding; the retained mass is the product-side figure).
- Uncertainty
- -37.3% / +35.5% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Ta Riser Wire Materialkg · -60% / +150%
- Source citations
-
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). Gill, John, "Basic Tantalum Capacitor Technology" (technical paper), KYOCERA AVX Components Corporation, Paignton, England. PDF document.
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Polytech, "Molded Guide - Guide for Tantalum Solid Electrolyte Chip Capacitors", document 40218, revision 21-Sep-2020. PDF document.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- tantalum powder, capacitor-grade
- Uncertainty
- -60% / +150% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Carbon Paint Materialkg
- Source citations
-
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). KYOCERA AVX, "Product Safety Information Datasheet - Material Data and Handling: polymer, tantalum and niobium oxide capacitors", document stamp 080924. PDF document.
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). Gill, John, "Basic Tantalum Capacitor Technology" (technical paper), KYOCERA AVX Components Corporation, Paignton, England. PDF document.
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Polytech, "Molded Guide - Guide for Tantalum Solid Electrolyte Chip Capacitors", document 40218, revision 21-Sep-2020. PDF document.
- Background data
- proxy-mapped
- Background dataset
- graphite
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- kg
Silver Materialkg · -73.3% / +30%
- Source citations
-
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Sprague, "Solid Tantalum Capacitors: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)", document number 40110, revision 30-Jul-08. PDF document.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- silver
- Notes
- From Silver Paint (70.0% silver). Silver content of the cured film. The applied paint is a silver powder slurry; the solvent evaporates during cure, so the retained layer is silver held in an organic binder rather than pure metal.
- Uncertainty
- -73.3% / +30% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Epoxy resin, liquid Materialkg · -73.3% / +30%
- Source citations
-
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Sprague, "Solid Tantalum Capacitors: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)", document number 40110, revision 30-Jul-08. PDF document.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- epoxy resin, liquid
- Notes
- From Silver Paint (30.0% epoxy resin, liquid). Declared proxy for the cured organic binder. The binder chemistry is not publicly specified; a liquid epoxy resin stands in for the resin and curing agent system, and any minor conductive filler carried in the paste is not resolved separately.
- Uncertainty
- -73.3% / +30% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Nickel, class 1 Materialkg · -31.6% / +24%
- Source citations
-
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Sprague, "Solid Tantalum Capacitors: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)", document number 40110, revision 30-Jul-08. PDF document.
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). KYOCERA AVX, "Product Safety Information Datasheet - Material Data and Handling: polymer, tantalum and niobium oxide capacitors", document stamp 080924. PDF document.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Ho, H.-J.; Lin, K.-Y. (2019), "Hydrometallurgical Process for Tantalum Recovery from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors", Materials 12(8), 1220. Journal article.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- nickel, class 1
- Notes
- From Leadframe Alloy42 (42.0% nickel). Nickel content of the alloy, as stated by the capacitor manufacturer. Purchased input grossed to fund the authored process loss booked as Alloy 42 trim from leadframe stamping (mass-closure funding; the retained mass is the product-side figure).
- Uncertainty
- -31.6% / +24% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Steel, low-alloyed Materialkg · -31.6% / +24%
- Source citations
-
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Sprague, "Solid Tantalum Capacitors: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)", document number 40110, revision 30-Jul-08. PDF document.
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). KYOCERA AVX, "Product Safety Information Datasheet - Material Data and Handling: polymer, tantalum and niobium oxide capacitors", document stamp 080924. PDF document.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Ho, H.-J.; Lin, K.-Y. (2019), "Hydrometallurgical Process for Tantalum Recovery from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors", Materials 12(8), 1220. Journal article.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- steel, low-alloyed
- Notes
- From Leadframe Alloy42 (58.0% steel, low-alloyed). Declared proxy for the iron balance of the alloy. Low-alloyed steel is the ferrous material-form dataset used elsewhere in this database for specialty ferrous alloys; the real balance is low-carbon iron. Purchased input grossed to fund the authored process loss booked as Alloy 42 trim from leadframe stamping (mass-closure funding; the retained mass is the product-side figure).
- Uncertainty
- -31.6% / +24% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Epoxy Encapsulation Materialkg · -11.4% / +39%
- Source citations
-
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Sprague, "Solid Tantalum Capacitors: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)", document number 40110, revision 30-Jul-08. PDF document.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Ho, H.-J.; Lin, K.-Y. (2019), "Hydrometallurgical Process for Tantalum Recovery from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors", Materials 12(8), 1220. Journal article.
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). KYOCERA AVX, "Product Safety Information Datasheet - Material Data and Handling: polymer, tantalum and niobium oxide capacitors", document stamp 080924. PDF document.
- content.kemet.com (date not recorded). KEMET / YAGEO, "T491 Industrial Grade MnO2 Tantalum Surface Mount Capacitors", document KEM_T2005_T491, revision 2026-07-08. PDF document.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12
- Background dataset
- epoxy resin, liquid
- Notes
- Purchased input grossed to fund the authored process loss booked as Epoxy mold flash (mass-closure funding; the retained mass is the product-side figure).
- Uncertainty
- -11.4% / +39% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Outputs and waste
Wastewater Wastewaterm3 · -50% / +100%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the water balance: fresh-water input minus evaporation.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- carried, no background dataset
- Background dataset
- No treatment route recorded for this output.
- Uncertainty
- -50% / +100% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- m3
Sieve reject fines + oversized chunks Solid wasteg · ±50%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- treatment of inert waste, sanitary landfill
- Uncertainty
- ±50% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- g
Spent gettering strips Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- treatment of hazardous waste, underground deposit
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Anodization bath sludge Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- market for metalliferous hydroxide sludge
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Alloy 42 trim from leadframe stamping Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- market for iron scrap, sorted, pressed
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Epoxy mold flash Solid wasteg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- treatment of inert waste, sanitary landfill
- Uncertainty
- No range defined.
- Unit
- g
Scrapped material (line yield) Solid wastekg · -23.5% / +35.6%
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated from the mass balance of spent materials and consumables, with treatment selected from the waste classification.
The sources below are this dataset's own bibliography. They are not tied to this row.
- Source citations (dataset-level)
- Inherited from this dataset's own bibliography, not tied to this row:
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Sprague, "Solid Tantalum Capacitors: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)", document number 40110, revision 30-Jul-08. PDF document.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Ho, H.-J.; Lin, K.-Y. (2019), "Hydrometallurgical Process for Tantalum Recovery from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors", Materials 12(8), 1220. Journal article.
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). KYOCERA AVX, "Product Safety Information Datasheet - Material Data and Handling: polymer, tantalum and niobium oxide capacitors", document stamp 080924. PDF document.
- content.kemet.com (date not recorded). KEMET / YAGEO, "T491 Industrial Grade MnO2 Tantalum Surface Mount Capacitors", document KEM_T2005_T491, revision 2026-07-08. PDF document.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). Gill, John, "Basic Tantalum Capacitor Technology" (technical paper), KYOCERA AVX Components Corporation, Paignton, England. PDF document.
- vishay.com (date not recorded). Vishay Polytech, "Molded Guide - Guide for Tantalum Solid Electrolyte Chip Capacitors", document 40218, revision 21-Sep-2020. PDF document.
- Background data
- ecoinvent 3.12 treatment route
- Background dataset
- treatment of inert waste, sanitary landfill
- Notes
- Calculated reject material after accounting for a manufacturing yield of 95%.
- Uncertainty
- -23.5% / +35.6% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Emissions to air
2 elementary flows released to air by this dataset's own operations. Quantities are not published; they ship with the dataset on Circa.
Volatile organic compounds (VOC) Emission to airg
- Derivation basis
-
- The public sources reviewed do not quantify the mass of volatile organic compounds released when the conducting-polymer cathode dispersion is dried and cured; the quantity is estimated from the dispersion applied to each piece and its volatile fraction
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Compartment
- Air (non-urban air or from high stacks)
- ecoinvent 3.12 elementary flow
- NMVOC, non-methane volatile organic compounds
- Uncertainty
- A minimum-maximum range is defined for this flow. Bounds ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- g
Volatile organic compounds (VOC) from epoxy cure Emission to airg
- Derivation basis
-
- Calculated as an air release, from a mass balance on the process gases going in, with the destruction or removal efficiency of any point-of-use abatement applied.
- No corresponding ecoinvent dataset or flow was identified for this entry, so it is published with its own quantity and no background link
No source is attached to this row.
- Source citations
- Not stated
- Compartment
- Air
- ecoinvent 3.12 elementary flow
- Not stated
- Uncertainty
- A minimum-maximum range is defined for this flow. Bounds ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- g
Emissions to water
No emissions to water are recorded at this level.
Flows not quantified
1 flow is recorded for this dataset but carries no quantity — cut off below the significance threshold, or with no background dataset available. It remains inside the declared system boundary; each is listed with its reason.
Not quantified - no background dataset available (1)
Polymer Cathode Materialkg · -75% / +150%
- Source citations
-
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). KYOCERA AVX, "Product Safety Information Datasheet - Material Data and Handling: polymer, tantalum and niobium oxide capacitors", document stamp 080924. PDF document.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Hsiao, C.-Y.; Lee, C.-H. (2022), "Recovery of Tantalum and Manganese from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors through Selective Leaching and Chlorination Processes", Materials 15(2), 656. Journal article.
- pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (date not recorded). Chen, W.-S.; Ho, H.-J.; Lin, K.-Y. (2019), "Hydrometallurgical Process for Tantalum Recovery from Epoxy-Coated Solid Electrolyte Tantalum Capacitors", Materials 12(8), 1220. Journal article.
- kyocera-avx.com (date not recorded). Gill, John, "Basic Tantalum Capacitor Technology" (technical paper), KYOCERA AVX Components Corporation, Paignton, England. PDF document.
- Background data
- no background dataset
- Background dataset
- Not applicable: this flow is not quantified in the inventory.
- Reason
- The conductive-polymer cathode of a polymer tantalum capacitor. No dataset for this polymer, or for any comparable intrinsically conductive polymer, exists in the background databases used for linkage, and standing in a generic acrylic or thermoplastic would misrepresent the monomer chain. Under this project's boundary policy an honest gap is preferred to a poor substitute, so the quantity is recorded here and its upstream production is left unlinked.
- Uncertainty
- -75% / +150% around the published quantity. The bounds themselves ship with the dataset on Circa.
- Unit
- kg
Limitations and unquantified flows (5)
Limits this dataset declares about itself: first any limit stated in its own description, then any limit it declares flow by flow, grouped by channel. Each entry below is the model's own disclosure.
Waste
- Spent gettering strips leaves the boundary as waste but is not funded by any material input on this bill; see that row for the quantity. Titanium getter strips are a furnace consumable. No titanium purchase is booked on the capacitor bill and no donor quantifies one, so the spent strip mass is carried as a declared open mass rather than funded from an unrelated input.
- Anodization bath sludge leaves the boundary as waste but is not funded by any material input on this bill; see that row for the quantity. Ta(OH)5 + phosphate precipitate from the anodization bath. The phosphate half comes from the H3PO4 bath, which this dataset does not book as a purchased chemical, so the sludge is carried as a declared open mass rather than attributed wholly to the tantalum pellet.
General
- Not quantifiedPhosphoric acid for the anodization bath is not quantified on this dataset. The dielectric is grown anodically in H3PO4 and the resulting bath sludge IS booked as an output, so the bath itself is an acknowledged input, not an absent one. The cathode-formation process files do record a per-kg-of-finished- capacitor figure for it, as drag-out plus bleed makeup on a re-used bath, but its per-piece allocation depends on a bath-turnover rate that is not published. It is left unquantified here rather than shipped on an assumed turnover; the process files carry the donor figure.
- Not quantifiedManganese nitrate is not quantified on the MnO2 route. The cathode is formed by repeated Mn(NO3)2 pyrolysis cycles; the MnO2 product of that reaction is booked as a material and its NO2 release as an air emission, but the nitrate precursor consumed to make it is not booked as a purchased chemical. The number of impregnation cycles, and therefore the precursor mass per piece, is vendor-specific and not disclosed.
- Not quantifiedProcess gases are not quantified on this dataset although every modelled route uses one. The process files record hydrogen for the vacuum sintering atmosphere and nitrogen for the cathode-formation ovens. (The argon cover gas the same files record belongs to the magnesiothermic reduction, which this flow no longer books - it rides the purchased capacitor-grade powder.) The remaining figures sit on a per-kg-of-tantalum basis in files this model consumes on a per-kg-of-finished-capacitor basis, and the conversion for a cover gas is not the tantalum mass fraction that governs the material rows, so they are deferred rather than converted on an assumption.
The flows above are this dataset's own records. What follows are the scope rules set once for the whole database in the methodology report, repeated here so every dataset page carries them.
Database-wide boundary policy — applies to every REEL dataset
These boundaries are set once for the whole database, in Chapter 2 of the methodology report, and apply to this dataset wherever they are relevant to it. The excluded flows listed above are specific to this dataset.
- Use phase
- Product operation is outside the cradle-to-gate scope.
- End-of-life treatment
- Recycling and disposal are outside the cradle-to-gate scope.
- Distribution and retail
- The gate is a finished component ready for integration into a higher-level assembly.
- Inbound transport of raw materials
- Transport of purchased raw materials to the manufacturing facility is already inside the upstream "market for" datasets that users link to a background database, so it is not modelled a second time here. This does not cover freight between REEL production stages, which is modelled where a dataset authors it.
- Returnable shipping containers
- Where freight between production stages is modelled, the mass moved is the product itself. The shipping container (FOSB, SEMI M31) is returnable capital equipment whose per-trip share is unsourced, so its tare is excluded from the transport effort.
- Photomask fabrication
- A mask set's embodied burden is amortised across a high-volume production run and is not attributed per wafer. Users assessing low-volume production should add mask fabrication separately; the methodology report gives the basis for the exclusion.
- Employee transport, administration and R&D overhead
- Employee transportation, facility administration and R&D/pilot-production overhead are outside scope.
- Capital goods
- Manufacturing equipment, cleanroom construction and facility infrastructure are excluded, on the grounds of absent public data on equipment embodied energy, uncertainty in equipment lifetime and allocation, common practice in electronics LCA, and a focus on the operational inventory. Future versions may include capital goods when sufficient public data becomes available.
- Precious metal recovery credits
- Scrap recovery credits for precious metals are excluded pending data availability.
- Wafer reclaim
- Test wafers and scrap are outside the system boundary.
Inside the boundary, linked rather than modelled
- Silicon ingot growth and wafer slicing
- Inside the cradle-to-gate scope, but treated as upstream material inputs linked to background databases rather than modelled as REEL processes.
- Freight between production stages
- Where a dataset's product moves between REEL production stages - wafer fabrication to the packaging site, for example - that leg is authored as a transport service and linked to an ecoinvent freight activity. It is measured as a transport effort in tonne-kilometres, not as a mass. Route distances are authored per route class with a stated band; a lower bound of zero is a modelling statement that the two sites can be co-located, not a missing value.
Cut-off criteria
A flow is excluded from a process inventory when it contributes less than 1 % of the total mass of inputs to that unit process, or less than 1 % of its total energy input. The denominator is total process inputs, not product mass. That distinction matters in semiconductor manufacturing, where the input mass of water, chemicals and gases greatly exceeds the product mass, so the threshold removes only genuinely minor flows.
Included regardless of the cut-off
- Perfluorocarbons (CF4, C2F6, SF6, NF3) - high GWP, EPA regulated
- Heavy metals (Pb, Cd, Hg, Cr(VI)) - RoHS regulated, high toxicity
- Volatile organics (photoresist solvents, PGMEA) - air quality
- Precious metals (Au, Ag, Pd, Pt) - high embodied impacts
- Ozone-depleting substances (legacy CFCs, HCFCs) - Montreal Protocol
Production covered
Solid tantalum electrolytic capacitor with sintered Ta anode pellet, Ta2O5 dielectric grown by H3PO4 anodization, and either MnO2 or conductive polymer (PEDOT:PSS) solid cathode. High volumetric efficiency for high-reliability applications (mil/aerospace, medical implant, automotive safety, high-frequency RF). Distinct from MLCCs (ceramic) and aluminum electrolytics (wound foil). The cathode chemistry, CV/g powder grade and EIA case size of the cell this dataset represents are named in the variant sentence that follows.
This variant represents a conductive-polymer (PEDOT:PSS) cathode - modern, low ESR (<100 mohm), benign failure mode, growing share; 18,000 CV-g powder - mid-tier commercial; EIA A-case package measuring 3.2 × 1.6 × 1.6 mm.
Modelling choices
This dataset is modelled with no water reuse. No reclaim rate is published for this kind of plant, so the water shown is the full fresh intake and no recycling credit has been deducted from it.